Happy Holidays from Starry-Eyed Potboiler!

Mind of a Writer

We here at Starry-Eyed Potboiler love many things. Among them spiked eggnog, bacon, Eva Green movies and… oh wait, wrong list. One second. Okay, here it is… Among them the holidays, writing and giving! To inspire you, drag you into social interaction and just plain have some fun, we’ll be running a contest from now until 11:59 on 31 December. So, if you don’t have anyone to kiss when a bunch of drunken people at the local pub begin an underwhelming chorus of “Auld Lang Syne”, you can watch the clock tick down here and see if you’ve won one (oh I love word puns, won one, get it?) of three fabulous prizes!!

And just what do we have in store for our wonderful victims… I mean readers, Johnny? Well, because we like to talk about writing probably more than anything in the whole wide world, and we love inspiring other people to write, we are offering up copies of our favorite three treatises on that subject. These are three books that have inspired me, starting with my formative years in High School, into college and my all-time favorite tome on the craft. Without any further ado, here they are:

becoming-a-writer1. Prize One – Becoming a Writer by Dorothea Brande – In high school I was dead set on getting a degree in Journalism and becoming a writer… life decided I needed to go in another direction, but this book was one of the keystones to my love of writing. I found it at my local library, sitting in the bargain bin for $2. I bought it and wore my copy out that I had to buy another later in life. I think that it is a well-written, concise bit of advice that everyone needs to read if they intend to get into writing. I love it so much it was one of my first blog posts, which you can read here. I can think of only two other books that I would tell someone who wants to write, “You need to buy these, beg for them for gifts or borrow from the library.” Today, however, you have a chance for me to give you one. 🙂

 

 

 

 

2. Prize Two – Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg – WritingdownthebonesLater in life, after my first year in college, several jobs, the United States Marine Corps Reserves and then the Navy, I picked up this book and instantly fell in love. Goldberg, famous for her novel Banana Rose and memoirs like Long Quiet Highway, has been quietly influencing writers for decades. Writing Down the Bones is one of those books on the craft of writing that doesn’t just give advice, it speaks to the art, the spirit and the zen of writing.  I can’t think of many other books that I recommend to people or look for on their shelves. I am excited at the chance to put it in your eager little hands.

 

 

 

3. Prize Three – On Writing by Stephen King – onwritingIf you know me or know of me. You might know or have guessed that I was inspired by Stephen King. I grew up reading his novels, novellas and short stories. I would stay up late into the wee hours of the night, pouring over the words he wrote, wanting, wishing, hoping one day to be able to inspire others with my skills. On Writing is two parts advice and one part memoir. If you’ve ever been interested at peeking behind the curtain to see the inner workings of the mind of a writer, and you’ve read everything on this blog ;), this is the book for you. I believe that it is without a doubt, one of the best tomes a writer can have on their shelf.

 

 

By now you are either excited or bored. Hopefully excited. We’ve now reached the point where you get to jump up and down and ask “How do I win? How do I win??” Easy there, Hoss. We’re gonna put this into three easy to follow steps. Are you ready? Good! In no particular order:

1. Share this post on social media… somewhere! –  Whether it is Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest, Your Mom’s Fridge (oh wait, scratch that last one), help us get the word out for the new year. We want people who are interested in writing, social thought, tabletop roleplaying games, and sarcastic comments to know about us! Be nice, share! Heck, I’ll make it easy on you ->Tweet: http://ctt.ec/OT4q2+ is giving away books! Help me win! Share this! :) #giveaway #amwriting #amwinning @dhsayers

 

 

 

2.  Browse through my #NaNoWriMo2014 Novel – Angels Deserve to Die – Because I’m working to get published and every read helps, do me this favor. Go to Tablo Publishing’s website and browse through my novel “Angels Deserve to Die“. I’m not asking for anything, but take a gander at it. 🙂

3. Follow us! – Easy-Peasy, lemon-squeezy… no, I didn’t just quote Hannah Montana… ok, I did. Don’t make fun of me!! At the top of this post on the right-hand side, you’ll see a little WordPress button to follow this blog, clicky-clicky!! Follow D. H. Sayers on WordPress.com

That’s it. Three simple steps and you will be put into the raffle for one of these three prizes!! Contest starts the moment this is posted and runs until exactly 11:59 p.m. on 31 December 2014. We’ll be watching! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

